: Sharing a KB the way it is described in this document may lead to performance issues and is not recommended. It was a valid option when GeneXus Server was not invented. For Team development, the recommended solution is using GeneXus Server
(See also Team Development with GeneXus Server
GeneXus Knowledge Bases can be shared among team members. They may work not only on the same KB but also on the same Version!
There are some tasks which cannot be done at the same time in the same Version. They are called critical tasks and they include:
- Save an object
- Delete an object
- Build All or Rebuild All
- Create DataBase Table
In other words, while a user is Importing a whole set of new objects, another user cannot save his/her changes. GeneXus automatically controls that and doesn't allow critical tasks to be done at the same time.These Controls could trigger messages like the following:
error: Importing is not allowed at this moment.<DOMAIN\USER> is Building on <COMPUTERNAME>
error: Attribute 'CustomerName': Saving is not allowed at this moment. <DOMAIN\USER> is Building on <COMPUTERNAME>
error: Saving is not allowed at this moment.<DOMAIN\USER> is Building on <COMPUTERNAME>
See here in order to find out how to share a KB.