Working with Lock Mode usual problems:
- Differences with GeneXus and GeneXus Server instances.
If the GeneXus instance is newer than the GeneXus Server instance the following error messages will be displayed during a Create KB From server operation when the selected KB enables locking.
========== Create Knowledge Base started ==========
Importing Theme 'GeneXusXEv2'... Failed
error: Object 'GeneXusXEv2' cannot be saved.
Theme 'GeneXusXEv2' isn't Locked or Force Edited
error: Object 'English' cannot be saved.
Language 'English' isn't Locked or Force Edited
- Opening a Knowledge Base which uses Lock Mode on a machine which doesn't have access to the GeneXus Server instance.
- <Object Name> was modified and isn't locked. What do you want to do?
- Lock It
- Force Save
- Cancel Save
If a Knowledge Base which is connected to a GeneXus Server instance it's copied to a computer which doesn't have access to the GeneXus Server instance some considerations must be taken into account.
For example, if an object was locked in the original Knowledge Base, in the new Knowledge Base a dialog will be displayed when trying to save an object. However, if selecting the Lock it option the Knowledge Base will continue to work fine, but any object can be locked in that Knowledge Base. To do so, please execute a Disconnect From Server operation.