Using GeneXus Server in a Few Steps

Official Content

The typical work cycle with GeneXus Server looks like this:

1. Make sure your Knowledge Base is served by the GeneXus Server.

This task can be done in two different ways:

Check the following video detailing what steps are involved:

2. Subscribe to a Knowledge Base

You will have to subscribe to a Knowledge Base using the Knowledge Base from Server operation.

Note: If you used the Send Knowledge Base to Server in the step one this task is no needed to be done because your local Knowledge Base gets synchronized with the GeneXus Server one. This task must be done for all the other developers who will use this Knowledge Base.

3. Update your working Knowledge Base

On a regular basis, you will use the Update From Server operation to bring your working copy into sync with the latest revision of the Knowledge Base in the GXserver.

Check the following sample video:

GXServer - How to keep your KB synchronized with server' target='_blank'>31523' target='_blank'> GXServer - How to keep your KB synchronized with server

4. Make changes

Now you can get to work and make changes in your working copy. It's usually more convenient to decide on a discrete change (or set of changes) to make, such as writing a new feature, fixing a bug, and so on. Just work as usual with GeneXus adding or modifying an object to get your assignment done!

5. Examine your changes

Once you've finished making changes, you need to commit them to the Knowledge Base in the Server, but before you do so, it's usually a good idea to take a look at exactly what you've changed. By examining your changes before you commit, you can make a more accurate log message. You may also discover that you've inadvertently changed an object, and this gives you a chance to revert those changes before committing. Additionally, this is a good opportunity to review and scrutinize changes before publishing them. You can see an overview of the changes you've made by using the Refresh button of the commit dialog, and opening those objects you can dig into the details of those changes by using the History dialog.

6. Possibly undo some changes

Suppose while viewing the object differences you determine that some changes you made to a particular GeneXus object or all of them, are mistakes. Maybe you shouldn't have changed an object at all, or perhaps it would be easier to make different changes starting from scratch.

Undo some changes: Restore this revision

You can use the Restore this revision option from the objects history to go back to a certain object revision. Notice this option is called Set as Active for Xev2u3 and lower versions.

Undo all changes: Revert

Revert enable you to go back the object to the last synchronized revision between the local KB and the GXserver, to start the changes from scratch. This revision corresponds to the last Commit, or Update performed from this client that includes the object (Update with Merge are not considered).

You can use the Revert option directly from the commit dialog by right clicking the object to Revert.

7. Commit your changes

Finally! Your edits are finished, you've finished checking your improvements, and you're ready to commit your changes to the GXserver Knowledge Base.
You can use the commit operation to send all of your changes to the GXserver. When you commit a change, you must supply a comment describing your change.

Check the following sample video showing how to send updates to the GXserver:

Congratulations ! If you have finished these steps you have successfully used the main GeneXus Server features for team development.

Want to see more?

Check all the introductory videos.

Check the GeneXus Server main page.

Check the live samples if you want to download any of these Live samples Knowledge Bases!



Was this page helpful?
What Is This?
Your feedback about this content is important. Let us know what you think.